Vasco Santos's referee takes the error in Portimonense – FC Porto. After calmly analyzing, he admits that the ball only touched the Algarve athlete's chest and, therefore, there was no penalty in favor of the dragons.
In statements made available by the Portuguese Football Federation, Vasco Santos tells his version of the events.
“The moment the referee blows the whistle I got the feeling that there had been a penalty kick situation. The referee pointed out, I went through several chambers, most chambers told me that the referee's decision was the correct one, but after a more careful analysis of several chambers, a camera on the opposite side was presented to me. I wondered if the ball hit the chest or arm, it seemed to me that it hit the left arm, between arm and chest, and since I was not sure that the referee's decision was wrong – as the protocol says – I decided not intervene, ”he said.
In a second phase, "by re-analyzing the pitch more smoothly without the pressure of having to decide, it is effectively found that the ball just hit the chest in a clear way."
FC Porto won 3-2 against Portimonense.